Support : Article- How are CPD points allocated?

How are CPD points allocated?


All doctors are required to familiarize themselves with the following guidelines.


a. Allocation of CPD Units

The minimum required is five units

  • One unit is equal to ten points.
  • The list of activities is a guide. It is not exhaustive.
  • The units indicated are the maximum that can be allocated per activity .

LEVEL ONE activities are those with no measurable outcomes and involves attendance


  • Conference, seminar, symposia - 5 points per day. 2 units
  • Meetings or updates; hospital, institution, dept etc - 1 point per. 1 unit
  • Lecture - 3 points. 1unit
  • Professional interest groups. 1 unit
  • Attendance at refresher/short courses. 2units
  • Attendance at activity classified as level one activity. 2 units


CPD activities that are based on education, publication research and or training and units will be determined on the basis of content.


Level two activities have a measurable outcome and involve presentation as opposed to passive attendance.


As a general rule the teacher will get x+1 units


  • Presenter short course. 3 units
  •  Co-presenter short course. 2.5units
  • Co-author peer reviewed publication. 2 units
  • Co-author chapter in a book. 1.5units
  • Co-presenter of a paper at a conference/refresher course. 2 units
  • External examiner of masters/doctoral thesis. 3units
  • Attendance at interactive skills workshop with outcome evaluation. 2.5units
  •  Invited guest lecturer at an accredited activity. 3units
  • Keynote speaker at an accredited conference. 4units
  • Journals pass rate >70%. 2.5units
  • Guiding undergrad students at recognized institution. 2units
  • Principal author of a peer reviewed publication. 4units
  • Principal author of a chapter. 3units
  • Presenter at conference/ refresher course. 2.5 units
  • Review of article/chapter .2units



  • Activities that are in the nature of structured learning that is a formal programme that is planned and presented by an accredited training institution evaluated by an accredited assessor with a defined outcome.
  • Single modules of masters degrees. 3units
  • Short courses with minimum 25 hours. 4 units
  •  Post graduate degrees, diplomas, additional qualifications. 4 units

Related Articles

- What are CPD points?
- Claiming CPD point via the CPD system
- Hierachy of CPD learning activities.
- Activities which do not qualify for CPD
- Claiming CPD points for self initiated learning activities